LUBBOCK, Texas — The Texas Society of Professional Engineers held its annual meetings this past week in College Station, Texas, including its annual awards celebration, where Parkhill, Smith & Cooper electrical engineer Jonathan Hartman, PE, was recognized as the 2019 TSPE Young Engineer of the Year.

Hartman joins Jay Edwards (1999) and Eric West (2009) as the third PSC engineer to win the award.

“It is such a high honor to be recognized by TSPE,” Hartman said. “I have been blessed for the multitude of opportunities in work, leadership, and mentorship that PSC has offered to me. Mentors have helped shape who I am personally and professionally, and for that, I am most thankful.”

The Texas Society of Professional Engineers (TSPE) is a state society of the National Society of Professional Engineers. TSPE was founded in 1936 to serve the interests of the individual engineer in Texas across all disciplines of engineering. TSPE’s mission is to promote and enhance the profession and licensed practice of engineering.

The Young Engineer of the Year Award recognizes a young TSPE member who has made outstanding contributions to the engineering profession and the community during the early years of one’s career.

Hartman is an electrical engineer and serves as a project and design engineer in PSC’s Amarillo office. He has experience with projects of many varieties: Healthcare, Higher Education, Community Practice, Infrastructure, Federal, State, Private, Religious, and Industrial where he is responsible for lighting design, electrical distribution, communications systems with experience in public address, sound system design, structured cabling, security system, fire alarm system, and access controls.

Hartman serves as a Senior Member on the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Panhandle Section Board and on the Education Committee that provides continuing education for professional engineers in the Amarillo and surrounding Panhandle region.

PSC CEO and TSPE President Joe Rapier (right) hands Jonathan Hartman (left) his Young Engineer of the Year Award at the 2019 TSPE meetings and annual awards.